Webinar - Fluorescence and compensation in flow cytometry

Webinar: Fluorescence and compensation in flow cytometry

 

Why fluorophores need compensating and how to avoid unnecessary compensation

Fluorophores accept light at a specific wavelength and re-emit it at a higher wavelength, giving each fluorophore an excitation and emission wavelength. Although there is a peak or maximal emission the range is often several hundred nanometers. This can cause problems where unwanted light enters several detectors giving false positives. Compensation is required to remove this unwanted fluorescence. Careful choice of fluorophores can reduce the amount of compensation needed.

This webinar is recommended to novices and researchers with limited experience of flow cytometry.

This webinar will cover:

  • Basic fluorescence principles
  • What is compensation and why you need to apply it
  • Compensation controls
  • How to avoid compensation in small panels
  • Common rules to help build more complex panels

Webinar: Fluorescence and compensation in flow cytometry
 

Date: Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Time:  08.00 PDT    |   11.00 EDT    |   16.00 BST     |    17.00 CEST

Presented by: Dr Mike Blundell, Product Manager at Bio-Rad Laboratories

Featuring Question and Answer session. #bioradwebinars 


Speaker Biography:

Presented by: Dr Mike Blundell, Product Manager at Bio-Rad Mike Blundell graduated from the University of Edinburgh with a B.Sc. in Immunology. He then moved to University College London where he joined the group of Prof. Adrian Thrasher and obtained his Ph.D. His thesis research was focussed on the primary immunodeficiency Wiskott Aldrich Syndrome. He investigated novel activating mutations and developed lentiviral vectors for use in gene therapy treatments, some of which have now been used in clinical trials. Mike contributed to 50 peer reviewed papers and has now left academia to become a product manager for Flow Cytometry.